Creating Change

Baltimore was packed with Queers and Creating Change heated up the already seasonably warm weather. This was my second time attending Creating Change and despite being down with a cold, I had a super time. Highlights included attending the AAPI day long institute with over 40 other queer and trans API folks, including other hotpot! members. We started with an exercise that used a timeline to facilitation learning about our own shared histories of immigration and political action. In the afternoon we had a visioning session about our lives and places in the Queer Asian and Pacific Islander movement. I can’t wait to see the video testimonials that the API Equality in California is putting together. In addition, I expanded my organizing skills with a workshop on how to ask for help and how to engage in a one on one conversation. I am glad to bring back these skills and memories to Philly! With my National Queer Asian Pacific Islander hat on, I helped facilitate the Asian Pacific Islander Caucus on Friday night. I was relieved that the room was packed with the new and familiar faces, as always I learned so much from everyone’s active participation.

For folks who were not able to attend Creating Change, I hope you’ll consider joining me at the NQAPIA conference in July. It is going to be three days filled with 300 plus QTAPI activists. You can count on fun, informative workshops, caucus space, arts and entertainment and a splendid community catalyst awards program. It is a Friday through Sunday outside of DC. Let hotpot! sc members know if you want to attend!

 

*pictures to follow!

Leave a Reply

